2017 baby

Happy New Year!

2017 Balloons:

My my my, what a whirlwind of a year this has been. Around the first of the year, I like to make some goals, as many do, and check in with my goals from the previous year to see if I reached any of them. So here we go.

  1. Get a new job in design.
    • I did this! I got a job as a graphic designer, as you might know if you follow along with this little bloggy. I also was able to intern with the Getty Museum in their design studio as well, so maybe I can count that as a bonus point, because I already have a feeling *spoiler* this list is going to go downhill from here.
  2. Read at least 15 books.
    • Would you like to guess how many books I read this year? I’ll tell you. Five. Five books. I suppose that is better than none, though, so I’m really not all that disappointed. Reading just wasn’t as big a priority this year as I thought it would be, and that’s okay.
  3. Update photo albums.
    • I started this project, but it is still in progress. I do really want to finish this though, so I’m gonna carry this over to next year.
  4. Keep soda and Starbucks on the weekends only by 2017.
    • I think I’ve really accomplished the soda-half of this goal. I’ve seriously cut it out, and I only have it occasionally at this point, so woo hoo! The Starbucks though… I really love that Starbucks, and I did NOT succeed in cutting down. My drink of choice however has less sugar than my former selection earlier in 2016, so I don’t feel quite as terrible about my failure as I would if I hadn’t switched. This isn’t an excuse though, I know.
  5. Keep up to date in my Q&A journal.
    • I didn’t do well at this. I made it through about half of the year, but for about 2 months during the summer, I was on vacation and not at my house all that much, so I fell out of the habit and that’s all it took. Carryover!
  6. Master time-management. 
    • This will be an ongoing goal for me I think. I feel much better about how I have been allocating time this year – time is made for tasks and people who deserve it, and I don’t feel as horrible of a friend or student as I did last year. I am still late a lot though, so like I said, an ongoing goal for sure.

 

Now for this year’s new goals…

  1. Cut the sugar.
    • Not completely, because I know I would fail immediately, but I want to eat healthy this year.
  2. Get in shape, stay in shape. 
    • I think I’m going to join the gym so I can be serious about this. Healthy habits haven’t been a priority for me, but this year I want to change that.
  3. Finish my graphic design program.
    • This is sort of a freebie, but I don’t care. I’m excited to finish!
  4. Learn to play the violin.
    • I got a violin as a Christmas gift, and I’ve always wanted to learn, so now’s the time!
  5. Join a church and bible study group. 
    • I think this will be the one I try first. I’m sort of hesitant because I don’t love meeting lots of new people, but I think it will be a really good thing in the long run.
  6. Prepare to buy a house. 
    • I can’t wait!

Cheers to the New Year!

xo

 

 

image

One thought on “2017 baby

Leave a Reply

