New.

Happy New Year!
2015, holy moly.

a3d601717a4fd75cfd321ebb9087e26f

Alright, well let’s check in with last year’s resolutions just to see how those went.

1. Save at least 1/2 of the money for a down payment on a house – I was able to meet this goal thanks to my job at Warner Bros. with some change. Woo Hoo!

2. Read at least 15 books – I made it to 12! That dang Hired Man was such a pain, it really slowed down everything. Oh well, I’m still happy with 12 books read. Here they are…

  • Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? And Other Concerns Mindy Kaling
  • Where We Belong Emily Giffin
  • The Maze Runner James Dashner
  • Better Off Friends Elizabeth Eulberg
  • The Last Always Nora Roberts
  • Bossypants Tina Fey
  • Beautiful Ruins Jess Walkter
  • Attachments Rainbow Rowell
  • Someday, Someday Maybe Lauren Graham
  • The Hired Man Aminatta Forna
  • Eleanor & Park Rainbow Rowell
  • One More Thing: Stories and Other Stories B.J. Novak

My favorite was Attachments, and I found a new favorite author in Rainbow Rowell. Thanks to my dear Rachel for the recommendation.

3. Continue learning French – Haha, I don’t think I learned a single new French word. I guess I’m not really interested enough in this goal. I want to learn French one day though…

4. Eat healthy, Stay fit – Guys. I quit the gym. I decided that running and being active outside of the gym was way more fun for me. So I ran outdoors, did workout videos via Tone it Up, which are great. The holidays definitely put all of it on hold, but this is a carry-over for sure. T Swift is the goal. I haven’t watched the DVR’d Victoria’s Secret fashion show yet, so maybe I’ll pop that on for some motivation.

5. Sew Something – Yeah, baby. Check. BIG TIME check. I sewed a bag, a vest, my Halloween costume, and an apron this year. I got a new beautful sewing machine for Christmas so there’s much more fun stuff to come.

6. Get genetic testing – Not exactly, but it’s a definite check off the list. We went for a genetic counseling session this year and found out that actual genetic testing is a big deal and not always 100% necessary. What I DID do is learn that constant monitoring the healthy choices are the way to go, so I got an MRI and valuable knowledge that will help in the future.

7. Stay after my passion in design – I’m going to consider this a big ‘done’. I started an Etsy site with some original art, learned how to be a seamstress, did a couple of paid photography sessions, and learned Photoshop and Illustrator. In the upcoming year, I’ll be doing more set design, and potentially moving on to a more creative career so I’m excited to see where this takes me.

Going into 2015, here are my new resolutions…

1. Read at least 15 books – I just got a Kindle so I’m gonna stock right on up and go crazy on this goal.

2. Finish saving for down payment on house/condo – I hope to start looking for a place before the end of the year.

3. Take a typography/hand-lettering class – Whether it’s an actual class or just practicing more, I’d really love to get better at this type of art. haha TYPE… get it?

4. Drink less soda and Starbucks – I’m going to TRY to taper this down to only having these things on weekends or when I go out for meals on special occasions by the end of the year. I know sugar is bad. Now I just have to do something about it.

5. Update my photo albums – I’m caught up to 2010, so I have a bit up bringing up to date to do.

6. Grow my Etsy site – I have some ideas on things to sell so hopefully I can grow the inventory a bit in 2015.

Here we go!

2b81125cedb3e9eb0884018ba1937f56

xo

source, source

 

 

One thought on “New.

  1. Woo good job with the goal-fulfillment. Wow, start looking for a place at the end of this year?! Crazy! I like all these goals and will gladly help keep you accountable if you want that, haha. Tell me more about this photo albums process because I have lot’s of photo-organizing to do. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

