Sunkissed

During the summer, I like to be outside a lot. And granted, it’s not actually summer yet, not even close really, it’s still in the upper 80’s most of the time here in Southern California so it may as well be. After a long day in the sun, I have a couple things I like to use to make sure I don’t feel burned to a crisp and tired the next day, and I thought I’d share them with you now.

1. Burt’s Bees After Sun Soother.

19499-00

This is kind of like lotion, but it’s a little runnier, so it absorbs really quickly. It has aloe in it so it feels very cooling, and helps transition your pink skin to a nice tan. Personally, I think it smells wonderful, but my sister says it smells like a grandma. Oh well. You can decide.

2. California Baby Calendula Cream.

500

I use this on my face as an after-sun moisturizer. It’s really important to keep your skin full of moisture, especially after spending a day outside where it’s being zapped out by the sun, chlorine, and warm air. This is a cream for super sensitive skin, as it was created for babies. I love it. They also have a shampoo in the same line that can be used as a gentle face and body wash.

3. Benefit It’s Potent Eye Cream.

benifit_itspotent_900x900_1

For the same reason as above, keeping the areas around the eyes is important, not to mention keeping them smooth and bright. I got a sample of this in a Birchbox and I like it very much.

4. Smith’s Rosebud Salve.

300

Holy moly, this stuff. It’s perfect for sunburned lips, and I love anything that can be used for more than one purpose – Once I put some on my lips, I use whatever is left on my finger on my hands. It. Smells. Like. Heaven.

5. H2O.

0003068480333_500X500

Water, people. Drink tons and tons of it when you’ve been outside all day. Drink tons of it anyway, it’s the best. I came across Eternal water at Coffee Bean, and had to buy it because of the bottle. It reminds me of the water they use on ‘Sabrina the Teenage Witch’, and that kind of thing is important to me. I tried to google a picture of it, but apparently ‘Sabrina the Teenage Witch water’ yields poor results. Oh well, just trust me.

 

xo

1. 2. 3. 4. 5.

Leave a Reply

