“Good Authors, Too”

Lately, I’ve been obsessive.

Well, not lately – I’m always obsessive. But lately, I’ve had an obsession with everything to do with Broadway. I’ve been fully consumed with watching vlogs, listening to new soundtracks, reading up on who is playing who, and what shows are on tour and coming near to me soon.

I’ll admit it. It’s all I can think about, and all I want to think about.

As my sister said the other day, ‘When I’m thinking about it, I’m really happy, and when I’m not thinking about it, I’m unhappy.’… or something like that. Whatever she said, it made me laugh, but also resonated deeply.

Ok, so here is where I let it out a little bit and share with you some of my favorite lyrics ever from various musical numbers that I love to pieces…

“If I went to battle
With someone’s herd of cattle
You’d have steak when the job was done.
But if shot the herder,
They’d holler “bloody murder”
Cause you can’t shoot a male
In the tail like a quail
Oh you can’t get a man with a gun.” – Annie Oakley, “You Can’t Get a Man with a Gun” – Annie Get Your Gun.

242

“Good authors, too, who once knew better words,
Now only use four letter words
Writing prose, Anything Goes.” – Reno Sweeny, “Anything Goes” – Anything Goes

Anything-Goes-Playbill-03-11

“We could be sitting in the computer lab,
4 A.M. before the final paper is due,
Cursing the world ’cause I didn’t start sooner,
And seeing the rest of the class there, too!” – Cast, “I Wish I Could Go Back to College” – Avenue Q

Avenue-Q-Playbill-07-03

“Dyin’ ain’t so bad
Not if you both go together
Only when one’s left behind
Does it get sad
But a short and lovin’ life
That ain’t so bad” – Bonnie, ”Dyin’ Ain’t So Bad” – Bonnie and Clyde

Bonnie-&-Clyde-10-11_1322002602

“There’s still so much to learn
So many dreams to earn
But even if I crash and burn ten times a day
I think I’m here to stay
I’m gonna find my way” – Elle Woods, “Find My Way” – Legally Blonde the Musical

B5F2F1232BDC4DFAA359385F322F649C

“Pick up the dinglehopper,
Just like so.
Twirl it the way I’m twirling now!
Give it a little yank, and there ya go!
You’re what they call ‘the dog’s meow’!” – Scuttle, “Human Stuff” – The Little Mermaid on Broadway

The_Little_Mermaid_Musical_Playbill

“I was always frightened, fraught with worry ’til him
I was going nowhere in a hurry ’til him
He filled up my empty life
Filled it to the brim
There could never ever be another one like him” – Leo Bloom, “‘Til Him” – The Producers

Playbill

“A guy who dreams like a lion
But wakes up like a lamb,
Me, who am I, but the guy I am
That’s whom I.” – Prince Topher, “Me, Who am I?” – Cinderella

Cinderella-Playbill-01-13_1363272374

“And I’ll stand there with the Wizard
Feeling things I’ve never felt
And though I’d never show it
I’d be so happy, I could melt!
And so it will be
For the rest of my life
And I’ll want nothing else till I die
Held in such high esteem
When people see me, they will scream
For half of Oz’s favorite team:
The Wizard and I!” – Elphaba, “The Wizard and I” – Wicked

wicked-playbill

xo

One thought on ““Good Authors, Too”

Leave a Reply

