New.

Happy New Year!
2014 looks pretty good to me.

ef707021510966629c883de78cdff843

First, for a check-in with my resolutions from this past year to see just how I did with keeping them.

  1. Learn French – I did not learn French this year. Not even close. I attempted to use a bootleg version of Rosetta Stone earlier in the year, but it didn’t work. I did however just download an app called ‘Duolingo’ a week ago that is going to help me stay on track in the upcoming year. I’ve set a daily goal to practice at for 5 mins. a day – pretty optimistic, but I’m carrying this baby over to 2014.
  2. Read 15-20 books – Check. I read 18 books in total:
    • Just One Day Gayle Forman
    • Our Song Jordanna Fraiberg
    • Rachel and Leah:Women of Genesis Orson Scott Card
    • Wait For You Jennifer Armentrout
    • The Messanger: Mortal Beloved Book 1 Pamela DeMond
    • Permanent Record Leslie Stella
    • Also Known As Robin Benway
    • The Suite Life Suzanne Corso
    • The Art of Racing in the Rain Garth Stein
    • The Obituary Writer Lauren St. John
    • Heart of the Matter Emily Giffin
    • I’ve Got Your Number Sophie Kinsella
    • Mr. Maybe Jane Green
    • Wedding Night Sophie Kinsella
    • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone J.K. Rowling
    • Matched Ally Condie
    • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets J.K. Rowling
    • Cocktails for Three Madeleine Wickham

    My favorites were The Art of Racing in the Rain, a story told from the perspective of a golden retriever, and Heart of the Matter, because Emily Giffin is the best. This shall also carry over to 2014, because although I do love reading, a goal makes me more motivated to keep cracking open new books.

  3. Keep a journal – I only did so-so on this guy. I journaled a few times this year, but I think I’m learning that I am not so much a ‘journaling’ type of person. I like writing, but not when I’m forced to, which is what this resolution feels like. I’ll continue to journal when it feels right, but I don’t think it will be a goal.
  4. Stay fit & eat healthy – Hahaha. Fail. Oh my word, fail. I mean, I tried pretty hard initially. Going to the gym, eating better, but at some point mid-year, my hips took on a life of their own. Sigh.
  5. Update blog at least 2x a month – I did this, with the exception of one month when I simply forgot and only blogged once. Oh well, I say this is accomplished.
  6. Take a photography course – I’ve been using my camera a LOT more. I was able to be the on-set photographer for 2 student films, and my photos were even used in BOTH movies as props. I took my sister’s senior photos, as well as her friend’s senior photos, and I’m learning a lot about my camera in the process. So, a Class? No. But experience is sometimes the best class you can take.
  7. Make photo albums – Check! I made photo albums for my college years and for graduation from undergrad. I like them A LOT. So glad I did this.
  8. Get a new job – Check. I got a lot of jobs this year actually… Started working at Di Novi Pictures as an intern in February, started temping at Warner Bros. in June, and got a full time job at Warners in September, not to mention those two student films.

Going into 2014, here are my new resolutions…

  1. Save at least 1/2 of the money for a down payment on a house – With my new job, I’ll hopefully be able to do this. For right now, I think I want to buy some property in California within the next couple of years. That may change, but I want to start saving just in case.
  2. Read at least 15 books – I have a whole list of books I want to read, so this should be fun.
  3. Continue learning French – Je suis une femme. See, already on my way.
  4. Eat healthy, Stay fit – Alright, gym. It’s you and me, baby.
  5. Sew Something – I’m taking an into to sewing class in February, so I’m hoping I can learn the basics enough to figure out how to make something. [And hopefully that something will be an Elsa costume for Halloween this year.]
  6. Get genetic testing – I learned this year, that because of my family history, it’s important for me to get genetic testing to find out if I have a hereditary gene mutation that could possibly lead to cancer down the road. This resolution is simply in place to motivate me to go in and do it. ugh.
  7. Stay after my passion in design – With this new job, it will be very easy to let my pursuits in design fall by the wayside, so I’m kicking my own butt this year to make sure I stay active with it and continue to pursue my interests, whatever that may mean.

main__ij4s5wnx_ng3___Selected

xo

image

image

Leave a Reply

