And Per Se And

1676632d4274794d1d3bb3d25937ba73

The Ampersand. It’s becoming quite popular in terms of typography and prints, and I’m fully on board with it’s fame. I love the ampersand. In college, my friend, Rachel, would write me letters occasionally, and she would consistently use the symbol… it was then that I fell in love with it. I decided to incorporate it into my writing and typing since then, and upon stumbling across this print of it, I went looking for its origins.

The symbol, meaning “and”, was considered a part of the alphabet at one time, and when listing it, a person would begin with “per se”, as this was the custom, when reciting the alphabet, for any letter that could be used by itself in writing. So, essentially, a person would say ” w, x, y, z, and per se and.” Eventually, the words were combined through mispronunciation, leading to our current ”ampersand”.

Just in case you were wondering.

[All “and”s were fully spelled for this post to avoid cheesiness. It was a tough call.]

xo

image source

wiki

One thought on “And Per Se And

Leave a Reply

