New York. Part One.

This past weekend, I returned from one of the best [if not THE best] trip that I have ever taken in my life. My dad, sister, and I went to New York for 4 days and now I’d like to tell you about it if you don’t mind. There’s a LOT to talk about so I’m going to do it in parts, so by the end, we may have a short novel on our hands.

The car ride to the airport started with some breakfast burritos and a New-York-themed playlist including the following songs:

1. Chasing the Sun – Sara Bareilles [ Talks about a cemetery in the center of Queens]
2. Empire State of Mind – Alicia Keys & Jay Z [”JZ” is actually a subway line in Brooklyn… I’m guess that’s where that name came from]
3. New York State of Mind – Billy Joel
4. Manhattan – Sara Bareilles
5. Sex and the City Theme Song – Movie Soundtrack
6. New York, New York – Frank Sinatra

We were off, and arrived at JFK [insert F.R.I.E.N.D.S reference here] around 10pm, and got some Au Bon Pain, which I had never had before, but apparently it’s a Sex and the City thing, which is super fitting, don’t you think?

ross2

 

download enhanced-buzz-3936-1374855370-9

We got to our hotel via crazy taxi driver around 11pm… that’s 8pm CA time. Not tired. But hey, ya know what, that’s ok, still have to unpack and get settled. The view out the window was AMAZING. A perfect view of the Empire State Building.

Our hotel was on 6th between 31st and 32nd, a really prime spot if you ask me. We got unpacked and read for bed, except guess what. Still not tired at all. Let’s just say the hours of sleep I got that first night were less than the number of the avenue we were on. By 3.

Anyway, we woke up to see Emp-ie all bright and happy, and lack of sleep was not going to put a damper on things. I can understand why Ted Mosby likes it so much. It really is beautiful.

how-i-met-s09e03-b-650x364

 

We stated our day with an ENORMOUS cup of much needed coffee at a place just down the street called ‘‘Gregory’s’‘. It was super hipster, but the coffee was GOOD and they were super fast. As is most everyone in the city, as I would come to find out.
After the coffee, we headed to the Subway, got our week pass, and took off to the Village [right after I got clamped in the doors. LOSER.]
The arch from Washington Square Park is iconic, so this was the first stop on the list. The park was lovely, with a huge fountain and all the homeless people you could want.

1385764_10201700443527028_2076344308_n 1385300_10201700444727058_1815901372_n

After the park, we took a stroll to Grove and Bedford, where the exteriors for F.R.I.E.N.D.S were shot, and we spent at least a half an hour on these streets because they were so beautiful and fall-esque. Pumpkins, leaves, and bricks everywhere. Just beautiful.

1375888_10201624703073564_2054897094_n
After bountiful selfies, we ventured on to Joe’s Pizza, which is apparently featured in Spiderman, as well as held in the hearts of many locals. It was gooooood. So good.
Next, we went to The Highline. It’s a really neat park that was constructed from an abandoned elevated railway in the Meatpacking District.
The sun was out, but man oh man, when that wind gets going its fuh-reezing. It was a lot of fun though, and nice to stroll.

559772_10201700446007090_532203933_n

After The Highline, we went uptown a bit to visit the NY WME office, so my dad could say hi to some people he’s worked with forever, but has never met. Sam and I left early to go to the NBC store at Rockefeller Plaza, where we were met with endless wonders from all of our favorite shows. We got some fun souvies there for sure.

1393969_10201700446367099_280794981_n

The time for our first Broadway show of the trip was soon approaching, and one of the WME women who is good friends with my dad set up a nice reservation for us in Times Square at Guy Fieri’s restaurant. We laughed about it, because generally we like to make fun of old Guy, but the food was awesome and it gave us a nice place to change into our theater clothes, so we were oh so appreciative.

The time had come. We headed over to the Longacre Theater were ”First Date” was about to start. We took our seats, and let me tell you something, there are few feelings comparable to the one you get knowing that the man of your dreams is about to be in front of you combined with the knowlege that there may be a chance that it could be his understudy instead. When Zachary Levi came on stage, let’s be honest, my heart swelled. The show was adorable, the music and singing was fantastic, and I’d see it again in a heartbeat. Go see it. Really.

first_date_retouched_duo-2_wide-631dda67d6bbe3652e2ede93193fa3ed3a187cfd-s40-c85

After the show, we walked outside to find that guardrails had been set up outside the side door to the theater. This was it. This is where the actors come out to say hello. There was a spot open, so I walked up and stood there. Not long after, the door man shows up and tells us that the actors will come out and sign autographs and take pictures, and Zac would take photos with every single person in line.
When he made his way to me, he signed my Playbill and I told him he was great, to which he replied, ”Thank you, you’re great.” =) When I got to the front of the line for a photo, I walked up and introduced myself. The doorman was kind enough to point out that I was nearly Zac’s height without heels, and Zac asked how tall I was and if I model. We got a photo, and chatted a bit. I was sure to tell him to come and visit me at Warner Bros. next time he was in LA.

28871_10201700446927113_280440063_n 1425519_10201700479367924_1227593615_n

He hugged me and kissed my cheek as we said our thank yous. Sam got her picture with him, and as we left, he blew me a kiss. We made it home on the subway as a happy bunch, needless to say.

1012714_10201649381810517_2091664216_n

Day One: Success.
To be continued…

xo

all images via me or google.

4 thoughts on “New York. Part One.

  1. Ok now here are my comments and questions:

    Were the breakfast burritos homemade?

    Oh my goodness I love your soundtrack!!

    Explain the clamping in the doors please.

    Haha Joe Spiderman.

    What things did you buy at the NBC store? And show us!!!

Leave a Reply

