No Joke.

This session of Bible study at Discovery Church, I have been the discussion group leader to a group of really great woman and we’ve been learning a lot about the book of James though our study with Beth Moore. [Man, she sure is fantastic] And its been a blessing to be the leader of this little group for so many reasons. One, because if I weren’t the leader, I don’t know if I’d be making time to do the homework [which may in fact be the very reason why the Lord called Rene to ask me to be a leader in the first place ;)] Two, in preparing for each session on Wednesdays, I’m pushed to come up with new [hopefully somewhat] challenging questions for our group, and think about the answers myself. And three, its helping me figure out what its like to lead and love in a different way.
We’ve been learing about simply asking God for what you want and doing it the right way… and let me tell you something… It seriously works. I’ve been praying for strength and ya know what? He delivers no joke! I’ve been able to accomplish things and try things that I wouldn’t normally if I hadn’t asked for help. Today at church, there was a guest speaker named Reggie, and he was talking about how its not really about how MUCH faith you have… it’s simply a matter of WHERE you put the faith that you DO have. He said ‘Who here hates flying, just has a big fear of it?’ and a few people raised their hands so he continued and said, ‘Ok so let’s say those who have that fear of flying have about 90% doubt that the plane is going to get you to where you want to go, but you still get on. I have about 90% faith that the plane will get me where I want to go, so I get on. But we both get on. And we both get to our location. So it really didn’t matter that you had 10% faith and I had 90% faith. We put our faith in the plane, and the PLANE is what got us there, not our faith.’ I really loved that illustration. Its the whole quality over quantity thing. 

James 4 : 1 What causes fights and quarrels among you? Don’t they come from your desires that battle within you? 2 You desire but do not have, so you kill. You covet but you cannot get what you want, so you quarrel and fight. You do not have because you do not ask God. 3When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.

and if none of that helps you or makes sense… there’s this…

Tumblr_lwlcadajrg1qe49wpo1_500_1

source

xo

One thought on “No Joke.

Leave a Reply

